4 comments on “360 more Open Access and subscription Journals added to JournalTOCs

    • Hi David,

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, I am aware that that publisher is on Beall’s List, but I wasn’t aware of the article you mention, which I am now reading.

      WRT Beall’s List, I certainly consult it when considering journals for inclusion in JournalTOCs, and I’ve been in contact with Beall about a couple of his posts. Beall does valuable work. His list of “Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open-access publishers” includes many publishers which are obviously completely bogus. I find this useful. The list is long, however, and I don’t always completely agree with his opinions.

      The article you mention http://www.harzing.com/esi_highcite.htm includes this quote from Beall “This bogus, Nigeria-based publisher has been around for years, and continues to increase its journal fleet of over one hundred titles from all areas of study. Seeking legitimacy, it falsely associates itself with authentic organizations and conferences.” Well, I don’t agree that the publisher is ‘bogus’. If it was bogus it wouldn’t have survived for so long.

      When deciding to include their titles in JournalTOCs I looked at various factors, including the content in their articles. I can only do this as a non-expert in many of the subjects covered, but whilst not appearing to be of the same standards as much content in some large well-known publishers, their content is of potential interest and use to many researchers who use JournalTOCs, and appears to be of higher quality than some content I’ve seen (even some in journals published by well-known publishers) elsewhere.

      We do monitor the journals in JournalTOCS. I removed some journals, quite recently. I will continue to monitor this particular publisher’s titles in JournalTOCs.

Leave a Reply

